Skip to main content

Kyudo Blog #2 - Shinsa Prep

So, we're well past my first year. I decided to take the video shinsa for shodan at the end of the year. We also, have a new cohort joining the dojo. Things are getting interesting. This journey has not been at all what I expected.

First, I had expected Kyudo to be both more and less introspective. Our dojo focuses more on Taihai, or the ceremonial/performance aspect of the art. And that comes with a lot of concern for harmony and beauty as a group. Making movements up to shai (firing line) in unison as much as possible. 

At the same time the focus on the self is infinitely more than I could have anticipated as well. Posture, breathing, form and movements. Everything seems to have a right way of doing it. And none of those "right ways" come naturally. Beyond that there is also etiquette. Even things you might not associate with the practice itself are a part it. And all of these things then also need to be in harmony with everything else.

Needless to say, I have a long way to go in this journey still. My posture still suffers over time, and many elements of my form are barely passable.

Nonetheless, I feel ready to approach my shodan shinsa. The requirements for shodan are actually quite low. Basically, you need to be able to perform the hassetsu, in its entirety, on your own and more or less accurately and safely. I don't mean to make that sound trivial. It absolutely is not. I'm doing a video shinsa, but it would be even more complicated for an in person shinsa. If you're practicing just 1 to 2 times a week, you might be able to be ready for a video shinsa in under a year, but an in person shinsa would likely require longer as it adds in needing to harmonize your timing with your tachi and know your cues depending on which position you end up in your tachi.

My biggest points of concern for the shinsa for myself are speed and posture. Apparently, for the video shinsa, from the time you do your bow at honza until you finish firing your second arrow, you're aiming for around 3 minutes. My typical timing at the moment puts me closer to 4. I also don't always maintain my posture leading to a bunch of unnecessary extra adjustments which can be distracting and advertise my faults. I'm not sure if that second one would be cause for failing.

I am also concerned about the written test. The technical question seem easy enough for shodan, but I struggle with the more spiritual ones of the sort that show up here. Especially the shodan ones. 

So, perhaps I'll review the ones I can find and answer them here:

1. What was your motivation (reason) for starting Kyudo?

My motivation for starting Kyudo was to find a community to be a part of while also taking an interest in focusing on self improvement. I was growing more isolated before starting Kyudo and knew I needed a change for both my mental and physical health.

2. What would you like to learn through Kyudo?

Through Kyudo, I'd like to learn more self awareness and control and how to apply that in interactions, not only with the bow, but also within and outside of my community.

3. What are you glad to have learnt through Kyudo?

I am glad to have learned the joy of working with others toward a shared goal; in this case working to better understand Kyudo, myself and world around me.

4. What do you pay attention to in order to prevent accidents?

To prevent accidents I pay attention to the condition or my equipment, the state of the space around (people, objects, entrances/exits) and to following the techniques I've been taught when handling equipment.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Kyudo Blog #1 - The First Year

I've been practicing Kyudo for over a year now. Started in early April of last year officially. This November I'm hoping to attempt for sho-dan. And, I wanted to take some time to reflect on a few things: Why I started and why I continued. General lessons learned. Current progress and goals. As to why I started, I can't say that there is a single, clear answer. I was thinking about joining "something" and I had been somewhat intent on it being some Japanese Martial Art. Aikido was the only thing I had taken which I had remembered enjoying when I was young. I discovered Kyudo through the anime Tsurune , but I had already attempted contacting and joining the dojo in the past and that show was no longer front and centre. Then, I saw that they were sponsoring a local event which made me curious. I checked their Facebook page and they were having intro sessions later in the year. I signed up. Attended. Joined the beginners program. Completed it. Applied to join the reg...

WoT Getting Picked Up By Another Network?

A lot of people are hoping that, since the cancellation, WoT will be picked up by another network. I don't think it will happen. I didn't mind the show and while I have some beef with it, even the quality of the show isn't the reason I don't believe it will be picked up again. This could have been the best received series of all time and no one would touch it now. Why? Because it is an unknown factor now. Basically, WoT is a show based on an existing IP with an existing fanbase. What was completed of the existing TV Series drifted so far from the books that it alienated that fanbase. This is a problem because there is no built-in audience for what comes next. The book fans have no reason to come along because the storyline from the books is no longer recoverable. And, even the TV show fans aren't a guarantee. In fact, they are especially not guaranteed here. Another unique factor here is that WoT was on Prime Video. This is a streaming service many people simply get...